Endgame Opening in Chess – The Creme de la Creme of Chess Play

 

I’ve been looking at some recent games of mine and critically analysed the content of transition to endgame. Simply put there is no transition to endgame. Why do I say this so matter of factly, well I’ve been playing against a few strong computers and looked at how they manoeuvre around the board. The first thing that strikes me is how quickly the computers at their higher level settings charge down the board like they are in endgame mode right from the start. It’s quite amazing to see this happening to me as I thought my endgame had strengthened quite a bit over this last year.

Examples of my games;

Versus Computer Level 1Versus Computer Level 2Versus Computer Level 3Versus Computer Level 4

Versus Computer Level 5Versus Computer Level 6

I try to keep up with the tactics/strategy the computer is following, but that is just it. I’m trying to keep up with it, so I’m always one or two tempi behind it right from the start. When I try and be as explosive against the computer, pushing forward like a mad bull, I have to say I didn’t fair too well and the computer regained any tempo that I thought I had within moments of me starting my attack.

It’s not that the computer does standard book openings either as it seems to be quite flexible in alternating its attacks to gain more advantage. So in my desire to develop a strong endgame I’ve started reciting the following;

  • Even Grandmaster say they don’t really know when the endgame begins so based on my experience of playing recently against these very strong attacking computers – Position pieces for endgame attack right from the beginning
  • If you want to dance then go to a dance class, because by the time you’ve placed a piece on a non effective square doing nothing then you can’t expect it to help out in the endgame.
  • Be confident enough to keep the tension whilst positioning for the endgame.
  • Follow the mistake to take rules whilst actively developing pieces for the endgame (Only take if absolutely necessary).
  • Any captures must lead to assisting your endgame strategy right from the start.
  • You can mirror the opponents moves for so long, but is this really development for your endgame or theirs?
  • After the first three moves if you haven’t positioned yourself for an endgame attack, prepare to be smothered, blocked by a strong player.

So I knuckled down and set myself a small challenge to play every game from now on with my new ‘Endgame Opening’ psychology;

Endgame Opening 1Endgame Opening 2Endgame Opening 3Endgame Opening 4Endgame Opening 5

Endgame Opening 6 – Endgame Opening 7 – Endgame Opening 8 – Endgame Opening 9 – Endgame Opening 10

Endgame Opening 11 – Endgame Opening 12 – Endgame Opening 13 – Endgame Opening 14 – Endgame Opening 15

Endgame Opening 16 – Endgame Opening 17 – Endgame Opening 18 – Endgame Opening 19 – Endgame Opening 20

Endgame Opening 21 – Endgame Opening 22 – Endgame Opening 23 – Endgame Opening 24

Applying the concept in a recent Over the Board Real Life Chess match against a higher rated opponent and not fairing to badly at all.

So all in all, from my own personal chess journey as a Rookie through to having a little bit more knowledge about how to develop my game, I’m very pleased with having arrived at this juncture, as it has for me, been one of learning about the Yin and Yang of personal chess mastery. Not to be a master of chess, but to master my own understanding of the chess world.

Ever Evolving Circles of Life

Leave a Reply

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Whats Really Going On?

poetry,music,sports and politics from Brotha O

Mae-no-sen

Martial Art musings from a humble beginer

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

meditative journey with saldage

a sharing of readings, thoughts, and images

fog up the windows

poetry & photos

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

survivalsolutionsjkd.wordpress.com/

Simplicity, Directness, Freedom

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

the WALK & TALK

For the busy people who want to enjoy life.

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

PeanutoakPrint

Poster Art Prints

Beyond

My Travel and Adventure Blog- Tales of Wild Places and Adventures

The Positive Experiment

The Experiment: Thinking Positively For 1 Year

Unabashedly Poetic

A blog about life

annoyingfilmperson

It's about movies, y'all.

Live & Learn

David Kanigan

The Wilden Marsh Blog

A blog about Wilden Marsh. Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest

The Wandering Mind

Wanderlust Through Words

Amelia Andaleon's Blog

A photo journal and random thoughts by a mom needing a creative escape.

Fong Tien Arts

AMSDaily

Living and Leading a Life that Matters

lifeintheblueridges

A College Girl's Adventures in Asheville.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

