Nikon Coolpix L810 Lens cap error fix

The lense on my new Nikon Coolpix L810 wouldn’t retract and I had an error message which said ‘turn the camera off remove the lens cap and turn the camera on’, this I did several times to no avail, I started to get a little worried as I have grown quite fond of its usability.

Nikon l810

As you do when in a crisis situation I hit the google master with my query and came across Fixya – Solutions for everything who thankfully had several tips for me try and correct my beloved camera. I list them below with the results I found;

  1. Firstly , try connecting your ac adapter or usb cable – This didn’t work for me on this occasion, my worry meter started to throb just a little
  2. Try holding the shutter button while switching on the camera – No success here this time, really feeling out of sorts at this stage
  3. Look at the lens , and if some of the lens ‘circles’ is misaligned or not concentric then try wiggling it (while holding camera lens down) –  No joy for me 😦
  4. Try gently pushing or pulling the lens when it extends but this is risky as it may cause the lens barrel to slip out of its guidance system – 😦 😦 My worry meter was blasting on over drive at this point
  5. Another way to do this is to place the camera lens down on a hard surface and then power it up. Be sure to use a soft cloth or something similar as to not scratch your lens or casing. Let the lens push the camera up and down a few times and sometimes the little resistance provided by the camera is enough to get things going again – I placed my lens on my sofa and turned the camera and as if nothing had been wrong with it, I heard the motor whirring and the lens retracted – Fantastic I could not believe it.

There were more tips provided but as my hopes had been answered I didn’t need to pursue them, but If anyone is going through the same problem with their camera I’ve copied them below for your information;

  1. Try hitting your camera near the lens on the body with the soft tissue on the palm of your hand.
  2. Other than that , I would take the camera to a repair center for a evaluation to see if it would cost more to repair than to replace the camera.
  3. If it is still under warranty I would suggest you take it in before trying any of these steps and remove any off-brand batteries or accessories as some stores are really fussy about warranty repairs on camera’s with non-brand accessories.

Nikon

2 Comments

  1. sarah

    im having the same problem… but none of these steps seem to work …. help!

    Like

    • Hi Sarah, have you tried gently placing the lense on a cushion, then turning it on while gently pushing the lense towards the cushion

      Like

Leave a Reply

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Whats Really Going On?

poetry,music,sports and politics from Brotha O

Mae-no-sen

Martial Art musings from a humble beginer

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

meditative journey with saldage

a sharing of readings, thoughts, and images

fog up the windows

poetry & photos

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

survivalsolutionsjkd.wordpress.com/

Simplicity, Directness, Freedom

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

the WALK & TALK

For the busy people who want to enjoy life.

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

PeanutoakPrint

Poster Art Prints

Beyond

My Travel and Adventure Blog- Tales of Wild Places and Adventures

The Positive Experiment

The Experiment: Thinking Positively For 1 Year

Unabashedly Poetic

A blog about life

annoyingfilmperson

It's about movies, y'all.

Live & Learn

David Kanigan

The Wilden Marsh Blog

A blog about Wilden Marsh. Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest

The Wandering Mind

Wanderlust Through Words

Amelia Andaleon's Blog

A photo journal and random thoughts by a mom needing a creative escape.

Fong Tien Arts

AMSDaily

Living and Leading a Life that Matters

lifeintheblueridges

A College Girl's Adventures in Asheville.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!