Leading Role Model

I sat in Leeds train station waiting for my train to London. It was the monthly community team meeting and I was really looking forward to it. As I drank my spring water I saw in the corner of my eye a tiny young lady leading a group of boisterous teenagers towards the ticket gates. I smiled to myself as I thought she had her hands well and truly full with having to deal with such a group, part of me wanted to go and give her a helping hand, but that thought was short lived as she commanded calm and achieved order within seconds of the teenagers becoming over excited. I sat slightly open mouthed as I have usually witnessed shouting and posturing to try and gain order with teenagers and her this tiny young lady seemed to magically command their attention and achieve appropriate behaviour without doing either.

Was she indeed the undisputed head of the pack…but how did she do it?

I watched her closely as she moved from one teenager to the other, demonstrating appropriate behaviour and receiving the same back. She appeared to smile widely when the teenagers conformed, making them feel good about themselves for towing the line. The ones who strayed from the path of conformity, were greeted with an even bigger smile as she motioned gently towards the upstarts and one by one they did one of the following things; tied their shoe laces, checked their bag for something, started reading a leaflet, put their rubbish in the bin and helped carry one of the others bags. After all this activity which lasted approximately 5 seconds, order was restored within the group.

I went into a little day dream as I pictured this tiny young lady being a mother of many children, quietly leading them in the ways of the world, whilst teaching them how to ride a bike, play rounders, tidy their rooms etc, with never a complaint or sign of self pity. I imagined her having many solutions to lifes difficult problems, definitely not a complainer and probably lives by the motto ‘Do something about it rather than wollow in denial and self recrimination’.

I snapped out of my day dream and saw the tiny young lady and her group walk back from the barriers and in the direction of where I sat, I made a conscious effort to over listen to how she was interacting with them. As they breezed passed I heard her say jovially to one of the teenagers ‘Complaining won’t solve your problem, how are you going to sort it?’, I caught a whisper of the teenagers reply, ‘I’ll have to get better then’, to which they faded away towards the ticket counter in single file and good form.

A sudden thought jolted my active imagination, a thought that I took to my community team meeting.

Wollow in self pity at your peril, so Get Activated to Stay Motivated and be a positive Leading role model in everything you do.

Leave a Reply

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Whats Really Going On?

poetry,music,sports and politics from Brotha O

Mae-no-sen

Martial Art musings from a humble beginer

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

meditative journey with saldage

a sharing of readings, thoughts, and images

fog up the windows

poetry & photos

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

survivalsolutionsjkd.wordpress.com/

Simplicity, Directness, Freedom

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

the WALK & TALK

For the busy people who want to enjoy life.

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

PeanutoakPrint

Poster Art Prints

Beyond

My Travel and Adventure Blog- Tales of Wild Places and Adventures

The Positive Experiment

The Experiment: Thinking Positively For 1 Year

Unabashedly Poetic

A blog about life

annoyingfilmperson

It's about movies, y'all.

Live & Learn

David Kanigan

The Wilden Marsh Blog

A blog about Wilden Marsh. Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest

The Wandering Mind

Wanderlust Through Words

Amelia Andaleon's Blog

A photo journal and random thoughts by a mom needing a creative escape.

Fong Tien Arts

AMSDaily

Living and Leading a Life that Matters

lifeintheblueridges

A College Girl's Adventures in Asheville.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

