The awesome Ben Nevis Trek

Well, the day finally came where I faced my own personal ultimate test…The trek up Ben Nevis – The Highest Mountain in the British Isles.
026
Yes, I know people have done this many times, some even running up and down its montrous structure, some wearing pink panther suits or St Trinians outfits for charity, some do it as part of their training in the armed forces running up and down it twice in one day(super fit or what), others hit the Ben Nevis trek for the sheer hell of it and others for an achievement of a life time, some even go as far as notching up all three of the highest mountains in England(Scafell), Wales(Snowdon) and British Isles(Ben
Nevis) in 24hrs to help satisfy their desire for adventure and the great outdoors.
055
Young or Old, chunky or slim, the great outdoors shows no prejudice. If your desire is strong and your body is willing, there is nothing you cannot achieve. This was never more true as I chatted with a gentile lady in the ‘Real Food’ cafe in Tyndrum on my way to fort william. Having forgot my one and only treasures at home ‘My walking boots’ I chatted with her about how she thought I would do, wearing the trainers I had on my feet.A glint sparkled in her eye as she said, ‘Oh, you’ll do just fine my lad, I did it in soles just like them’, ‘My husband likes to wear huge soled boots, but they’re too heavy for me’‘When did you do it?, Was it really tough?’, I sat up to attention hoping she would tell me what I wanted to hear.

‘Only last year, I went up with a friend of mine’, ‘If you take your time, you will do alright, but you’ll be fine, the weather looks to be on your side this weekend’, she chirped gleefully.

My guardian angel from the ‘Real Food’ cafe had given me the confidence I needed, because for her lifetime achievement she had completed Ben Nevis at the ripe mature age of 73, all my worries about footware paled in comparison to this.

The day of the walk was truly a sight to see. Me and a group of trekking enthusiasts had definitely dropped lucky on the weather (My guardian angel was ‘So Right’). The sun shone on high as a gentle breeze licked my neck, what more could you ask for.

Ben Nevis – In its magnificence, stands proudly at 4,409 feet (1344m).

We took the ‘tourist’s path’, but don’t be fooled by the name, because it belies the strenuous nature of the climb. The terrain was very challenging, and we trekked over large boulders and along zig-zag paths.

Luckily though, it was a walk and there was NO climbing involved.

We were blessed with the wisdom of a Guardian Angel, excellent weather and good spirits within our group.

We were a band of ordinary guys who put our skills to the test, and conquered Britain’s highest peak.

  See Our Ben Nevis 2011 Trek on You Tube

Leave a Reply

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Whats Really Going On?

poetry,music,sports and politics from Brotha O

Mae-no-sen

Martial Art musings from a humble beginer

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

THOUGHTS

the imaginations that changes everything

meditative journey with saldage

a sharing of readings, thoughts, and images

fog up the windows

poetry & photos

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

survivalsolutionsjkd.wordpress.com/

Simplicity, Directness, Freedom

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

the WALK & TALK

For the busy people who want to enjoy life.

writeshianwrite

The thoughts in my head.

PeanutoakPrint

Poster Art Prints

Beyond

My Travel and Adventure Blog- Tales of Wild Places and Adventures

The Positive Experiment

The Experiment: Thinking Positively For 1 Year

Unabashedly Poetic

A blog about life

annoyingfilmperson

It's about movies, y'all.

Live & Learn

David Kanigan

The Wilden Marsh Blog

A blog about Wilden Marsh. Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest

The Wandering Mind

Wanderlust Through Words

Amelia Andaleon's Blog

A photo journal and random thoughts by a mom needing a creative escape.

Fong Tien Arts

AMSDaily

Living and Leading a Life that Matters

lifeintheblueridges

A College Girl's Adventures in Asheville.

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!